Alban Bagbin, Speaker of Parliament

Alban Bagbin sworn-in as speaker of 8th Parliament

Alban Sumana Bagbin has been sworn-in as speaker of the Eighth Parliament of the Fourth Republic of Ghana.

Mr. Bagbin was sworn -in on Wednesday, January 7, 2021 at 9: 23 am. The swearing in was officiated by the Chief Justice, Kwasi Anin Yeboah.

The National Democratic Congress (NDC) nominated Alban Bagbin for the position of the speaker of parliament and after a drawn out contest he won against his opponent Prof. Aaron Mike Oquaye, the immediate past Speaker of parliament.

The clerk of Parliament, Mr. Cyril Nsiah officially declared Mr. Bagbin as winner over Pro. Mike Oquaye after the house voted him as the next speaker of parliament in an election process.

Related Content

Recommended for you

5 1 vote
Article Rating
No apps configured. Please contact your administrator.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments